Shadow of the Fox by Julia Kagawa Review

“Once Every Thousand Years… Every millennium, one age ends and another age dawns…and whoever holds the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers holds the power to call the great Kami Dragon from the sea and ask for any one wish. The time is near…and the missing pieces of the scroll will be sought throughout the land […]

Read More

The Lost Pearl by Emily Madden Review

A sweeping family saga of long lost love, for readers of Fiona McIntosh and Mary-Anne O’Connor.  From Pearl Harbor to the shores of Sydney, a secret that spans generations could unite a family – or destroy it. Honolulu, Hawaii 1941 On the evening of her sixteenth birthday party, Catherine McGarrie wants nothing more than for […]

Read More

The Brightsiders by Jen Wilde Review

Jen Wilde serves up her latest ball of gushy cuteness featuring characters of a diverse array of genders and sexualities. Emmy King may be the super star drummer of The Brightsiders, one of the hottest teen rock bands around, but that doesn’t mean her life is easy. Her self centred parents only care about partying, […]

Read More

It by Stephen King review

Warning: This post is not spoiler free! We all know at least a little of what this book is about, right? It’s one of the most iconic works of King’s forty year career and has inspired both a 1990 mini series adaptation and a 2017 feature film. Even those, who haven’t seen either have likely heard of […]

Read More

Neverland by Margot McGovern Review

“Kit Learmonth would rather die than grow up and leave Neverland . . .” Trigger warnings for Neverland: self harm, suicide, eating disorders, emotional manipulation, and more. The book is largely set at a psychiatric treatment centre and this may be distressing for some readers. Kit Learmonth has spent half her life daydreaming. In reality, […]

Read More

A Thousand Perfect Notes Review

In the world of classical music, the Keverichs are famous. Beck Kerverich’s uncle is Germany’s leading composer, whilst his mother was a pianist of great acclaim, until she suffered a career ending stroke. According to his mother, it’s now Beck’s time to shine. Though a cruel mix of bullying and violence, she pushes Beck to […]

Read More

Thunderhead by Neal Shusterman Review

The first book of the Arc of a Scythe series introduced us to a world in which death has been conquered by technology. Humans need never fear illness or old age, thus overpopulation has grown worse, and the institute of the Scythedom has arisen in order to cull the population. Thunderhead continues to follow the […]

Read More

Scythe by Neal Shusterman Review

“My greatest wish for humanity is not for peace or comfort or joy. It is that we all still die a little inside every time we witness the death of another. For only the pain of empathy will keep us human. There’s no version of God that can help us if we ever lose that.”  […]

Read More

Queens of Fennbirn

Queens of Fennbirn (Three Dark Crowns 0.5) consists of two prequel novellas; The Young Queens and The Oracle Queen. By the time we met Mirabella, Arsinoe and Katharine in Three Dark Crowns, the triplets have been long separated. The teenage queens already see one another as rivals, and are well aware of their upcoming fight […]

Read More

May 2018 Wrap Up

  Hi friends! Since it’s finally June (YAY WINTER IS HERE!!), I figured I’d share my thoughts on the seven books I read in May. Of these seven, I gave four books five star ratings! So you could say that May was a great reading month for me (or that I’m a very generous reviewer, […]

Read More

Leah On the Offbeat Review

“I swear, people can’t wrap their minds around the concept of a fat girl who doesn’t diet. Is it that hard to believe I might actually like my body?”  ― Becky Albertalli, Leah on the Offbeat Plot You may remember Leah Burke from Albertalli’s debut novel, Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. Though the book focused on […]

Read More

The Star-Touched Queen Review

“The truth,” said Amar, taking a step closer to me, “is that you look neither lovely nor demure. You look like edges and thunderstorms. And I would not have you any other way.”  ― Roshani Chokshi, The Star-Touched Queen I only have one problem with The Star-Touched Queen… but it’s kind of a big one.My issue is, […]

Read More