Enmity Review

A boy desperate for refuge. A girl unknowingly tied into a revolution. Their paths are set to collide with critical consequences. When Kai finds himself fearing for his life, the only logical reaction is to run. But in a world where escaping south of the river is next to impossible, is it worth the risk? […]

Read More

Almost Love Review

Almost Love is a book about obsession and infatuation. Despite the title, it’s certainly no love story.  We first meet Sarah, a frustrated artist in her late twenties, when she’s living with her boyfriend Oisin. Though the pair were once madly in love, Sarah has become disillusioned with Oison, constantly picking fights with him. And […]

Read More

Isla and the Happily Every After Review

Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on introspective cartoonist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And after a chance encounter in Manhattan over the summer, romance might be closer than Isla imagined. But as they begin their senior year back in France, Isla and Josh are forced to […]

Read More

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Lola Nolan has three goals in life. Create the most perfect Marie Antoinette costume to wear to her winter formal. Convince her dads that her older, punk rocker boyfriend Max, really isn’t all that bad. Never see the Bell twins again.  When Calliope and Cricket Bell return to her neighbourhood, Lola doesn’t know what to […]

Read More

Bright We Burn Review

Bright We Burn is the thrilling conclusion to Kiersten White’s gloriously violent and beautifully written The Conqueror’s Saga. This series offers an alternative history of The Ottoman Empire and focuses on the lives of Vlad Tepes, Radu cel Frumos, and Mehmed  II. Only Vlad is a teenage girl named Lada and the three are locked […]

Read More

Shadow of the Fox by Julia Kagawa Review

“Once Every Thousand Years… Every millennium, one age ends and another age dawns…and whoever holds the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers holds the power to call the great Kami Dragon from the sea and ask for any one wish. The time is near…and the missing pieces of the scroll will be sought throughout the land […]

Read More

The Lost Pearl by Emily Madden

A sweeping family saga of long lost love, for readers of Fiona McIntosh and Mary-Anne O’Connor.  From Pearl Harbor to the shores of Sydney, a secret that spans generations could unite a family – or destroy it. Honolulu, Hawaii 1941 On the evening of her sixteenth birthday party, Catherine McGarrie wants nothing more than for […]

Read More

The Brightsiders by Jen Wilde

Jen Wilde serves up her latest ball of gushy cuteness featuring characters of a diverse array of genders and sexualities. Emmy King may be the super star drummer of The Brightsiders, one of the hottest teen rock bands around, but that doesn’t mean her life is easy. Her self centred parents only care about partying, […]

Read More

It by Stephen King

Warning: This post is not spoiler free! We all know at least a little of what this book is about, right? It’s one of the most iconic works of King’s forty year career and has inspired both a 1990 mini series adaptation and a 2017 feature film. Even those, who haven’t seen either have likely heard of […]

Read More

June Wrap Up 2018

Hi friends, We may be a few days into July, but it’s not too late to discuss June reads! How many books did you read this month? Did you have a favourite? And have you set a July TBR? I read six books, included an anthology of horror short stories, two books by Australian debut […]

Read More

Neverland by Margot McGovern

“Kit Learmonth would rather die than grow up and leave Neverland . . .” Trigger warnings for Neverland: self harm, suicide, eating disorders, emotional manipulation, and more. The book is largely set at a psychiatric treatment centre and this may be distressing for some readers. Kit Learmonth has spent half her life daydreaming. In reality, […]

Read More

A Thousand Perfect Notes

In the world of classical music, the Keverichs are famous. Beck Kerverich’s uncle is Germany’s leading composer, whilst his mother was a pianist of great acclaim, until she suffered a career ending stroke. According to his mother, it’s now Beck’s time to shine. Though a cruel mix of bullying and violence, she pushes Beck to […]

Read More