Two Dark Reigns by Kendare Blake : A Review

For those who haven’t read the first two books in the Three Dark Crowns series (or the two companion novellas), the premise of the novels is pretty simple; on the island of Fennbirn, the queen of each generation gives birth to a set of female triplets. Each triplet has a unique magical gift; they may […]

Read More

Sadie by Courtney Summers : A Review

Synopsis from Courtney Summers’ website: “Sadie hasn’t had an easy life. Growing up on her own, she’s been raising her sister Mattie in an isolated small town, trying her best to provide a normal life and keep their heads above water. But when Mattie is found dead, Sadie’s entire world crumbles. After a somewhat botched […]

Read More

Huntress and the Nightingale by Amara Luciano : A Review

Goodreads synopsis Once upon a time there was a noble huntress who fell for an evil queen… For fans of Hunted by Meagan Spooner and Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao comes a gender-bent fantasy tale inspired by Snow White and the Huntsman… Once a huntress blessed by the gods, Zahria has […]

Read More

Grim Lovelies by Megan Shepherd : A Review

Grim Lovelies re-imagines modern day Paris as a world full of witches, goblins, and of course, magic. One such witch, Mada Vittora has defied the laws of nature by turning animals into her human servants; creations called “Beasties”. Though the Mada can be cruel, she dotes on her youngest servant, Anouk. Thus, when her mistress […]

Read More

Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller Review

At age seventeen, pirate captain Alosa is certainly ambitious. Though she already has her own ship and crew, she dreams of one day ruling the seas as Pirate Queen. Thus when her father, the Pirate King, sends her on a dangerous mission to retrieve part of a legendary map from a rival ship, Alosa jumps […]

Read More

The Surface Breaks by Louise O’Neill Review

“We are women. And women are warriors, after all.” Gaia is the youngest and most beautiful of The Sea King’s six mermaid daughters. Though she is only fifteen, Gaia’s flawless face and her talent for singing have attracted not only the envy of her sisters, but also the attentions of Zale; the kingdom’s most admired […]

Read More

Enmity by C.K. Robertson Review

A boy desperate for refuge. A girl unknowingly tied into a revolution. Their paths are set to collide with critical consequences. When Kai finds himself fearing for his life, the only logical reaction is to run. But in a world where escaping south of the river is next to impossible, is it worth the risk? […]

Read More

Almost Love by Louise O’Neill Review

Almost Love is a book about obsession and infatuation. Despite the title, it’s certainly no love story.  We first meet Sarah, a frustrated artist in her late twenties, when she’s living with her boyfriend Oisin. Though the pair were once madly in love, Sarah has become disillusioned with Oison, constantly picking fights with him. And […]

Read More

Lola and the Boy Next Door Review

Lola Nolan has three goals in life. Create the most perfect Marie Antoinette costume to wear to her winter formal. Convince her dads that her older, punk rocker boyfriend Max, really isn’t all that bad. Never see the Bell twins again.  When Calliope and Cricket Bell return to her neighbourhood, Lola doesn’t know what to […]

Read More

Bright We Burn by Kiersten White Review

Bright We Burn is the thrilling conclusion to Kiersten White’s gloriously violent and beautifully written The Conqueror’s Saga. This series offers an alternative history of The Ottoman Empire and focuses on the lives of Vlad Tepes, Radu cel Frumos, and Mehmed  II. Only Vlad is a teenage girl named Lada and the three are locked […]

Read More

The Lost Pearl by Emily Madden Review

A sweeping family saga of long lost love, for readers of Fiona McIntosh and Mary-Anne O’Connor.  From Pearl Harbor to the shores of Sydney, a secret that spans generations could unite a family – or destroy it. Honolulu, Hawaii 1941 On the evening of her sixteenth birthday party, Catherine McGarrie wants nothing more than for […]

Read More

The Brightsiders by Jen Wilde Review

Jen Wilde serves up her latest ball of gushy cuteness featuring characters of a diverse array of genders and sexualities. Emmy King may be the super star drummer of The Brightsiders, one of the hottest teen rock bands around, but that doesn’t mean her life is easy. Her self centred parents only care about partying, […]

Read More